Song Ji – Asian Fusion

In order to experience an immigrant cuisine within Florence, I ventured to an Asian fusion restaurant not far from my apartment called Song Ji. I went with two of my roommates, and together we were all excited to take a break from a typical Italian dinner and experience some different food in Florence. Song Ji maintains the typical standards of an Asian fusion restaurant with traditional wall patterns and designs throughout the room, making it look authentic and representative of Asian culture. We sat down, reviewed the menu, and shortly a waiter came over to take our order. The waiter took our order on an iPhone, which we were all slightly suspicious about only because we had never seen this method before. We ordered traditional Asian dishes including chicken fried rice, miso soup, and chicken, mushrooms and broccoli. Although the restaurant was by no means busy and they did not seem to be understaffed, it took over an hour for us to get our food. Our waiter never came to check on us and took over 30 minutes just to bring us water. We had originally thought they forgot to place our order, but then realized there was a group in a private room that seemed to be spending a lot of money on food and because of this, almost every waiter in the restaurant was tending to them. We saw many other customers looking over with the same frustration. Our food was finally delivered, and we began to eat. At this point, we were so hungry that almost anything would have tasted good. However, I’d say the meal overall was pretty mediocre. I’m not the best chef, but I don’t think chicken fried rice is all that hard to make and it was certainly not a dish I would wait as long as I did for again. Personally, I’m someone who loves Asian cuisine, so I was pretty bummed with the overall experience of Song Ji. Hopefully through reading some other blogs containing positive experiences, I can find a few good foreign food spots, but personally I would not recommend Song Ji to anyone and will definitely not be going back.

https://www.thefork.it/ristorante/song-ji/372147?cc=17173-7c9&gclid=Cj0KCQiA14TjBRD_ARIsAOCmO9aIYscPgpRyi7up1mo4IACaMn2BOyOWI42GsWsOga1JImoY3f7PDlcaAnHlEALw_wcB

Leave a comment